What You Need to Know about Vitamin D

What you need to know about Vitamin D

Are you getting enough Vitamin D through your diet or sun exposure? With stay at home orders in place or in areas where obtaining Vitamin D from the sun isn’t enough, Vitamin D supplementation has become the alternative to ensure appropriate levels of Vitamin D are absorbed by the body. Before you supplement your body with the sunshine Vitamin, we want to make sure you are informed on all things Vitamin D.

In the past, Vitamin D deficiency was reserved for people living in the North, but lately people in Florida and California have increased rates of vitamin D deficiency, as more and more people use sunscreen with higher SPF and are staying out of the sun as it is known age the skin.

What is Vitamin D?

Vitamin D is a fat soluble vitamin that helps your body absorb calcium. Vitamin D is naturally present in non-vegan/vegetarian foods, fortified foods, supplements and can be absorbed through the skin from the sun.

Forms of Vitamin D

There are 2 forms of Vitamin D: Vitamin D2 and Vitamin D3. Vitamin D2, also known as ergocalciferol, is produced by plants when they are exposed to UV light (from the sun or artificial). Vitamin D3, also known as cholecalciferol, is made by your skin when it is hit by UV light. Both forms of Vitamin D2 and D3 travel from the liver and kidneys to form the active form of Vitamin D. With a huge percentage of Vitamin D deficiencies and in areas of the world where sun exposure is limited, supplementing has become an option.

Our Vegan Vitamin D3 is a micro-encapsulated cholecalciferol (the most bioavailable form of Vitamin D3) that is extracted exclusively from lichens, an algae/fungi commensal organism. Many published research studies show that Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is the best possible form of Vitamin D for the body.

Benefits of Vitamin D include:

-Supports optimal bone mineralization and health*
-Promotes immune function*
-Supports a healthy inflammation response*

Our Vitamin D3 is not only Vegan and Vegetarian, but also is free from sugar, wheat, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nut, fish, shellfish, soy, and milk products.

MRM Nutrition wishes you safety and wellness as we look to a healthier future.

This information is intended for educational purposes only and should not replace the advice from your health care professional or relied upon to determine a diagnosis or treatment. Please consult your doctor.

*These statements have not been evaluated by the food and drug administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.